Inaugural Future Earth Science Committee Announced


The International Social Science Council (ISSC) and the International Council for Science (ICSU) are pleased to announce on behalf of the Science and Technology Alliance for Global Sustainability the members of the first Science Committee for Future Earth, a new 10 year research programme on global sustainability.

The Science Committee, includes 8 world renowned social scientists, and will advise the Governing Council of Future Earth and provide scientific guidance on all Future Earth activities. It will ensure that Future Earth research is of the highest quality, and make recommendations on emerging priorities for the programme. It is the first of the governing bodies to be appointed for Future Earth, which will be supported by an interim secretariat until a permanent secretariat is set up in 2014.

The Committee is comprised of 18 members with representation from the full spectrum of global environmental change science from natural and social sciences, humanities and engineering.

The committee will be chaired by Dr Mark Stafford Smith, Science Director of the Commonwealth Scientific and Industrial Research Organisation (CSIRO) Climate Adaptation Flagship in Canberra, Australia, with Melissa Leach, Director of the Economic and Social Research Council (ESRC) STEPS (Social, Technological and Environmental Pathways to Sustainability) Centre in the UK and Belinda Reyers, a Chief Scientist at the Council for Scientific and Industrial Research (CSIR) serving as Vice Chairs.

The full list of members is available here.