Call for Nominations - Stein Rokkan Prize 2015

The ISSC, the European Consortium for Political Research (ECPR), and the University of Bergen  are delighted to announce that the nomination process for the 2015 Prize is now open.

Stein Rokkan was a pioneer of comparative political and social science research, renowned among other things for his ground-breaking work on the nation state and democracy. A brilliant researcher and a professor at the University of Bergen where he spent most of his career, Rokkan was also president of the International Social Science Council (ISSC), and one of the founders of the European Consortium for Political Research (ECPR).

Established by the ISSC in 1981, the Stein Rokkan Prize for Comparative Social Science Research celebrates his immense legacy by rewarding substantial and original contributions in comparative social science research. It includes a $5000 award. The Prize is managed by the ECPR and generously supported by the University of Bergen. Recent winners include James W McGuire (Wealth, Health, and Democracy in East Asia and Latin America for 2011), Pepper D. Culpepper (Quiet Politics and Business Power: Corporate Control in Europe and Japan for 2012), Dorothee Bohle and Bela Greskovits (Capitalist Diversity on Europe’s Periphery for 2013) and Christian Welzel (Freedom Rising: Human Empowerment and the Quest for Emancipation for 2014).

The prize is open to works in comparative studies from all social science disciplines. Submissions can be a monograph or collected works published no more than two years before the award year.

The winner receives a diploma and a cash prize, which is awarded during an ISSC Executive Committee or General Assembly meeting, or at a World Social Science Forum.

Submissions should be sent by email to Marcia Taylor at before 15 February 2021.

Further information can be found here.