Stein Rokkan

The Stein Rokkan Prize for Comparative Social Science Research is awarded for very substantial and original contributions in comparative social science research. Submissions can be either an unpublished manuscript of book length, or a printed book, or collected works published no more than two years before the award year. Laureates receive a diploma and a cash prize, awarded every year and awarded during an ISSC Executive Committee or General Assembly meeting, or at a World Social Science Forum, where laureates are usually asked to deliver a public lecture.

The Stein Rokkan Prize was first awarded in 1981 in honour of Stein Rokkan (1921-1979), who pioneered this type of research. Rokkan was a Norwegian political scientist and sociologist. The Prize was instituted jointly by the ISSC and the Conjunto Universitario Candido Mendes in Brazil, and until 2002 the Prize was awarded jointly by both institutions.

Since 2008, and thanks to the generous support of the University of Bergen, where Stein Rokkan was professor of comparative politics, the Stein Rokkan Prize amounts to $5000 and is awarded on an annual basis with and is presented jointly with the European Consortium for Political Research (ECPR).

2017 - Abel Escribà-Folch and Joseph Wright

2016 - Stanislav Markus

2015 - Marius Busemeyer

2014 - Christian Welzel

2013 - Dorothee Bohle & Bela Greskovits

2012 - Pepper D. Culpepper

2011 - James W. McGuire

2010 - Beth A. Simmons

2009 - Robert E. Goodin, James Mahmud Rice, Antti Parpo, Lina Eriksson

2008 - Prof. Cas Mudde

2006 - Milada Anna Vachudova

2004 - Daniele Caramani

2002 - Patrick Le Galès

2000 - Eva Anduiza-Perea

1998 - Robert Rohrschneider

1996 - Kees van Kersbergen

1992 - Kaare Strøm

1990 - Stefano Bartolini and Peter Mair

1988 - Charles Ragin

1986 - Louis M. Imbeau

1983 - Jens Alber

1981 - Manfred Schmidt