Contact Details:

1, rue Miollis
75732 Paris Cedex 15

Tel: +33 (0)1 45 68 48 60
Fax: +33 (0)1 45 68 48 62

about the ISSC

Other Committees

• Financial Development Committee
• 2009 World Social Science Report (WSSR) Editorial Board
• Committee on Developing and Transition Economies (CoDATE)
• Stein Rokkan Prize 2010 Jury
• The ISSC Nominating Committee

Financial Development Committee (FDC)

The FRC was established in 2007 to formulate and oversee new fundraising strategies for the Council and, in accordance with a decision of the 2006 General Assembly, to review its membership fees structure.

Katsuya Kodama, ISSC Vice-President
Glyn Davies, ISSC Executive Committee Member
Adebayo Olukoshi, ISSC Executive Committee Member
Michel Sabourin, ISSC Executive Committee Member
Ex Officio
Heide Hackmann, ISSC Secretary-General
Mayette Geronimo (

The WSSR Editorial Board

The WSSR Editorial Board will advise on the design and production of the 2009 World Social Science Report.

Gudmund Hernes, ISSC President
Managing Editor
Francoise Caillods
• Craig Calhoun, President Social Science Research Council, USA
• Christopher Colclough, Director Center for Commonwealth Education, University of Cambridge, UK
• Adam Habib, Deputy Vice-Chancellor for Research, Innovation and Advancement, University of Johannesburg, South Africa
• Laura Hernandez-Guzman, National University of Mexico, Mexico
• Huang Ping, Director General Institute of American Studies, Chinese Academy of Social Sciences (CASS), China
• Soheila Shahshahani, Shahid Beheshti University, Iran
• Hebe Vessuri, Director Department of Science Studies, Instituto Venzolano de Investigaciones Científicas, Venezuela
• Peter Weingart, Director Institute for Science and Technology Studies (IWT), University of Bielefeld, Germany
• Polymnia Zagefka, Institute of Higher Studies on Latin America, France
• John Crowley, UNESCO, (Observer)
Ex Officio
Heide Hackmann, ISSC Secretary-General
Francoise Caillods (


Assisting the positive and rigorous development of the social sciences in developing and transition economies is a key priority for the ISSC. The Committee on Developing and Transition Economies (CoDATE) was set up to advise the Council on the detailed design and implementation of actions intended to deliver this objective in the next four years.

Adebayo Olukoshi, Director of the United Nations African Institute for Economic Development and Planning (IDEP)
• Atilio Boron Latin American Program of Distance Education in the Social Sciences, Argentina
• Jo Duffy, Research Development Leader for International Development, Economic and Social Research Council, UK
• Renee van Kessel-Hagesteijn, Director Social Sciences and Director WOTRO Science for Global Development, the Netherlands Organisation for Scientific Research, Netherlands
• Khotso Mokhele, South Africa, Former Vice President of the International Council for Science (ICSU) and President of the National Research Foundation (NRF), South Africa
• Seteney Shami, Programme Director Eurasia; Middle East and North Africa; International Collaboration, Social Science Research Council, USA
• David Thorns, University of Canterbury, New Zealand; ISSC Vice President
• Wanda Ward, Senior Advisor, Office of the Director, Natural Science Foundation, USA
• Yang Yang, Director General,International Cooperation Bureau, Chinese Academy of Social Sciences (CASS), China
Ex Officio
Heide Hackmann, ISSC Secretary-General
Heide Hackmann (

Stein Rokkan Prize 2008 - 2009

The 2010 prize jury comprises:

• Klaus Armingeon, Universität Bern, Germany
• Maurizio Ferrera, Università degli studi di Milano, Italy
• Stein Kuhnle, University of Bergen/ Hertie School of Governance, Germany
• Manfred Schmidt, Universität Heidelberg, Germany
Clare Dekker (

The 2010 ISSC GA Nominations Committee

• Hege Torp, Director of Department for Social Sciences, Research Council of Norway (RCN)
• Craig Calhoun, President, Social Science Research Council (SSRC)
• Alberto Cimadamore, Head, International Relations, Latin American Council of Social Sciences (CLACSO)
• Junji Koizumi, Secretary General, International Union of Anthropological and Ethnological Sciences (IUAES)
Maria Pilar Magannon (