Contact Details:

1, rue Miollis
75732 Paris Cedex 15

Tel: +33 (0)1 45 68 48 60
Fax: +33 (0)1 45 68 48 62

World Social Science Report 2013 Scientific Advisory Committee

WSSR 2013

Members of the Scientific Advisory Committee

Olive Shisana, CEO, Human Sciences Research Council of Africa (HSRC); President, International Social Science Council (ISSC) (Chair)


Craig Calhoun, Director, London School of Economics (LSE); President, Social Science Research Council (SSRC)

Nazli Choucri, Professor of Political Science, Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT); President, Scientific Advisory Committee, UNESCO’s Management of Social Transformation (MOST) Programme

Sir Partha Dasgupta, Professor of Economics, University of Cambridge; Chair, Scientific Committee, International Human Dimensions Programme on Global Environmental Change (IHDP)

Fatima Denton, Director, IDRC/DFID Climate Change Adaptation in Africa Programme

Peter Driessen, Professor of Environmental Studies, Utrecht University

Francois Heran, Researcher (former Director), National Institute of Demography  (INED)

Saleemul Huq, Director, International Centre for Climate Change and Development (ICAAD); Senior Fellow of the Climate Change Group, International Institute for Environment and Development (IIED)

Enrique Leff, Professor of Political Ecology and Environmental Policies, Division of Graduate School of Political and Social Sciences at National Autonomous University of Mexico (UNAM)

Thandika Mkandawire, Professor of African Development, London School of Economics (LSE)

Karen O’Brien, Professor of Human Geography, Department of Sociology and Human Geography, University of Oslo

Ursula Oswald Spring, Professor of Anthropology, Regional Centre for Multidisciplinary Research, National Autonomous University of Mexico (CRIM‐UNAM); former Minister of Ecological Development, Morelos, Mexico

Jia Hua Pan, Executive Director and Professor, Research Centre for Sustainable Development, Chinese Academy of Social Sciences (CASS)

Thomas Pogge, Professor of Philosophy and International Affairs, Yale University; Chair, Comparative Research Programme on Poverty (CROP)

Thomas Anton Reuter, Professor of Anthropology/’Future Fellow’, Asia Institute University of Melbourne

Johan Rockström, Professor in Natural Resource Management, Stockholm Resilience Centre

Ismail Serageldin, Director, Bibliotheca Alexandrina

John Urry, Professor of Sociology, Lancaster University

Oleg Yanitsky, Professor of Sociology, Institute of Sociology, Russian Academy of Sciences

John Crowley, Social and Human Sciences Sector, UNESCO (Observer)